Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education Resources

Supporting the Profession Professional Standards Division
January 1, 2006

This organization was formed in 1979 and today represents 42 higher education and student affairs professional organizations, including NASPA. According to its mission, “The Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education (CAS), a consortium of professional associations in higher education, promotes the use of its professional standards for the development, assessment, and improvement of quality student learning, programs, and services." The first set of functional area and academic preparation standards was published by CAS in 1986 followed in 1988 by a Self-Assessment Guide for each of the functional areas. The standards were created to encourage the profession of student affairs to examine its focus on learning and development of students within each unit on campus. CAS Standards are often used in program design and evaluation, as well as assessment of student learning.

CAS Standards, originally published in 1986

CAS currently has standards for 45 functional areas within higher education and student affairs. To order a copy of the current standards for your functional area, please visit the CAS website.

CAS Self-Assessment Guides, originally published in 1988

The Self-Assessment Guides were created as companions for the CAS Standards to assist professionals in assessing organizational effectiveness as well as developing action plans for improvement. CAS Self-Assessment Guides can be purchased online.

CAS Statement of Shared Ethical Principles, 2006

Based on a review of member organization ethical codes and standards of ethical conduct, CAS created the Statement of Shared Ethical Principles which emphasizes seven principles: autonomy, non-malfeasance, beneficence, justice, fidelity, veracity, and affiliation. The full statement can be found here.