Region VI Undergraduate Rising Star Award

Region VI
Application Deadline: September 8, 2024 | Award Type: regional

The Undergraduate Rising Star Award recognizes an undergraduate student for their academic achievement, involvement, and potential in the student affairs profession. 


The recipient will receive 

  • Recipient will receive a one year complimentary NASPA membership at the NASPA Member Institutional rate.

  • Complimentary registration for the NASPA Western Regional Conference

  • $250 travel scholarship to attend the conference from Region VI.


Award Criteria:

  • Current enrollment in an undergraduate program in NASPA Region VI with an institutional NASPA membership, with junior or senior standing

  • A minimum cumulative GPA of 2.5

  • Involvement in campus activities and/or organizations

  • Significant contributions through leadership on their campus

  • Intention to pursue an advanced degree and/or career in the field of student affairs


Questions? Contact Lexer Chou, Nominations and Awards Chair, at [email protected].

Nomination Guidelines

Nominating someone is easy! One person should coordinate the submission and follow these steps.

  • STEP 1: Write a letter of nomination
  • STEP 2: Collect two (2) letters of support or endorsement.
  • STEP 3: The person coordinating the nomination should gather the nomination materials then go online to submit. You must upload all of the information at the same time. This person should then submit the nomination letter, letters of support online.
  • STEP 4: Submit the nomination by the published deadline!

Questions? Contact Lexer Chou, Nominations and Awards Chair, at [email protected].

Past Recipients - Region VI Undergraduate Rising Star Award

2023 - Samantha Schoner, California State University Long Beach

2021 - Vinson Vu, San Jose State University

2020 - 'Ihilani Lasconia, University of Hawai'i, Manoa

2019 – Jessica Yu, University of California, Los Angeles

2018 – Hannah Wiebke, Northern Arizona University

2017 – Matthew Rodney

2016 – Nora Rosales Soto, University of California, Santa Barbara

2015 – Cassie Rubio, University of California, Santa Barbara

2014 – Savannah Andrews, California State University, Bakersfield

2013 – Brandon Ishikata, San Diego State University

2012 – Wiliama R. Sanchez, Whittier College

2011 – Tara Ignont, University of the Pacific

2010 – Queena Hoang, University of California, Santa Barbara

2009 – Mercy Daramola, California State Polytechnic University, Pomona

2008 – Jeremy Booker, California State University, Channel Islands

2007 – Nicole Mehta, San Diego State University

2006 – Connie Moreno, California State University, Fullerton

2005 – Rouel Velasco, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

2004 – Philip L. Vasquez, California State University, Fullerton

2003 – Justin Koppelman, Chapman University

2002 – Candice Chick, California State University, Long Beach

2001 – Michelle DuBord, San Diego State University

2001 – Brian Hooks, Concordia University

2000 – Dawn Graham, Arizona State University, East

1999 – Isidro Martinez, United States International University

1998 – Jessica McKinney-Morales, Chapman University

1997 – Alyssa Elaine Browne, San Diego State University