Board of Directors

The NASPA Foundation Board has been volunteer driven since its inception in 1973. Board members volunteer their time to serve as ambassadors, solicit gifts, provide strategic oversight, and support foundation programs such as Pillars of the Profession and Channing Briggs Small Grants. Additionally, each NASPA Foundation Board Member commits to joining the Diamond Club and assuming travel and lodging costs for foundation board meetings.

NASPA Foundation Board Member Expectations

Interested in Serving as Foundation Board Member?

The Foundation Board is always seeking nominations for those interested in supporting the fundraising work of the NASPA Foundation. To learn more about becoming a Board member and the application process, please contact the Foundation Board Chair, Maureen Keefe or Foundation Board Chair-Elect, Paul Bennion.  



Message from the Board Chair

I have been a proud and active NASPA member throughout my career. Being able to serve as the board chair for the NASPA Foundation fills me with immense pride because of the work we are doing. Gifts from our donors support professionals to attend a conference they otherwise would not have been able to and covers memberships dues to ensure members are able to stay connected and engaged with our work. Being a part of the Foundation and moving our profession forward with grants supporting innovative research is inspiring. This fills me with hope and excitement for our profession. If you’ve already joined our work – thank you and good work! If you are not yet a donor – come join us! Together, we can make magic happen.

Executive Committee

Past Foundation Board Presidents/Board Chairs

2018 - 2020 Dr. Bette Simmons, County College of Morris  2016 - 2018  Dr. Eugene L. Zdziarski, II, DePaul University
2014-2016  Dr. Frank Ardaiolo, Winthrop University, (Retired) 2012-2014 Dr. Cherry Callahan, University of North Carolina at Greensboro, (Retired)
2010-2012  Dr. Barb Snyder, University of Utah, (Retired) 2008-2010 Dr. Almeda Jacks, Clemson University
2006-2008  Dr. Ed Whipple, Bowling Green State University, (Retired) 2004-2006 Ms. Susan Batchelor Adams, Texas Christian University, (Retired)
2002-2004 Dr. Doris Ching, University of Hawaii, (Retired) 2000-2002 Dr. Margaret Barr, Northwestern University, (Deceased)
1998-2000 Dr. William Thomas, (Deceased) 1996-1998 Dr. David Ambler, University of Kansas, (Retired)
1993-1996 Ms. Judith Chambers, University of the Pacific, (Retired) 1992-1993 Dr. Dudley Woodard, University of Arizona, (Retired)
1991-1992 Dr. Richard Correnti, Florida International University, (Retired) 1989-1990 Dr. Larry Ebbers, Iowa State University, (Retired)
1988-1989 Dr. Tom Goodale, Sigma Alpha Epsilon 1987-1988 Ms. Judith Chambers, University of the Pacific, (Retired)
1986-1987 Dr. Robert Leach, (Deceased) 1985-1986 Dr. Richard Correnti, Florida International University, (Retired)
1984-1985 Dr. Edward Hammond, Fort Hays State University, (Retired) 1983-1984 Dr. Mikell O'Donnell, Ohio State University, (Retired)
1977-1983 Dr. Channing Briggs, (Deceased) 1976-1977 Dr. Jim Rhatigan, Wichita State University, (Retired)
1975-1976 Dr. James Appleton, University of Redlands, (Retired) 1973-1975 Dr. John Blackburn, Blackburn Educational Technologies, (Deceased)